Where is kivalliq located?

Where is kivalliq located?

Nunavut, Canada
The Kivalliq Region (/kɪˈvælɪk/; Inuktitut syllabics: ᑭᕙᓪᓕᖅ) is an administrative region of Nunavut, Canada. It consists of the portion of the mainland to the west of Hudson Bay together with Southampton Island and Coats Island. The regional centre is Rankin Inlet.

How many communities are there in kivalliq?

Seven communities
The Kivalliq Region is located on the western shores of Hudson’s Bay. Seven communities are located in the region. Located in the center of Nunavut Kivalliq is a major transportation link to the rest of the territory.

What are the 3 regions of Nunavut?

Nunavut is divided into three regions: Qikiqtaaluk, Kivalliq and Kitikmeot. The region of Qikiqtaaluk, also known as Qikitani and previously known as the region of Baffin, is made up of a multitude of islands and includes the Melville peninsula as well as Prince-de-Galles and Somerset islands in the north.

Which region is Nunavut in?

Covering roughly the part of the Canadian mainland and Arctic Archipelago that lies to the north and northeast of the treeline, Nunavut is the largest and northernmost territory of Canada and the fifth largest administrative division in the world….Nunavut.

Published Online August 9, 2007
Last Edited December 2, 2021

How many cities are there in Nunavut?

All of Nunavut’s 25 municipalities are hamlets except for the City of Iqaluit, which is the territory’s capital. The largest municipality by population in Nunavut is Iqaluit with 7,429 residents, home to 20.2% of the territory’s population. The smallest municipality by population is Grise Fiord with 144 residents.

How many counties are in Nunavut?

List of regions of Nunavut

Regions of Nunavut
Kitikmeot Kivalliq Qikiqtaaluk
Location Nunavut
Number 3
Populations 6,543 (Kitikmeot Region) — 18,988 (Qikiqtaaluk Region)

What region is Baffin Island in?

Nunavut territory
Baffin Island is separated from Greenland on the north and east by Baffin Bay and Davis Strait and from the Labrador-Ungava mainland on the south by Hudson Strait. It is administered as part of Baffin region, Nunavut territory, Canada.

What landform region is Coral Harbour in?

Coral Harbour (Inuktitut: Salliq/Salliit, Syllabics: ᓴᓪᓕᖅ/ᓴᓪᓖᑦ), is a small Inuit community that is located on Southampton Island, Kivalliq Region, in the Canadian territory of Nunavut….Coral Harbour.

Coral Harbour ᓴᓪᓕᖅ/ᓴᓪᓖᑦ Salliq/Salliit
• Land 137.91 km2 (53.25 sq mi)
Elevation 64 m (210 ft)
Population (2016)
• Total 891

What is the largest community in Nunavut?

The largest municipality by population in Nunavut is Iqaluit with 7,429 residents, home to 20.2% of the territory’s population.

Can you drive to Nunavut?

There are no roads to Nunavut. Air travel is by far the most common means of transportation to Nunavut and between its distant communities. Visitors to Nunavut can reach the gateway communities of Iqaluit, Rankin Inlet and Cambridge Bay by air travel from any major centre in the world.

Is Iqaluit in the Canadian Shield?

Sudbury, Ottawa, Montreal, Quebec, Iqaluit, Thunder Bay, and Winnipeg.