What is the sentence for aggravated arson in Ohio?
two to eight years
Aggravated arson causing harm to an occupied structure is a felony of the second degree, which can result in a prison sentence from two to eight years and/or fines up to $15,000.
How long do you go to jail for arson in Ohio?
Penalties for Ohio Arson and Aggravated Arson Charges For 4th degree or 3rd degree felony arson, the penalty is 6 months to 5 years in jail, with fines of up to $10,000. For a 2nd degree or 1st degree aggravated felony arson, the penalty is 2 to10 years in prison, with fines of up to $20,000.
Is arson a serious felony?
California Penal code section 451 makes it a felony to willfully and maliciously set fire to or burn any structure, forest land, or other property. Penal Code section 452 makes it a misdemeanor or felony when someone causes a fire due to their reckless behavior.
What is aggravated arson in Ohio?
The law defines aggravated arson in Ohio as creating or causing a substantial risk of physical harm to another person by starting a fire. The police could also charge you with aggravated arson for damaging an occupied structure by starting a fire or sparking an explosion.
What is the punishment for arson?
What is the punishment for arson? Sentencing varies depending on the type of arson and where the case is dealt with. Anyone convicted of arson where minor damage was caused will be given a fine and a community order. But if the arson is more significant or a person died, they could be sentenced to life in prison.
Can arson be expunged in Ohio?
If the victim of the crime was under the age of 18, whether the crime was a misdemeanor or a felony, the conviction cannot be expunged. And, violent offenses like kidnapping, domestic violence, felony assault, murder, rape, arson, robbery, and sexual offenses are not eligible for expungement.
What happens if you commit arson?
Arson charges can lead to lengthy prison sentences, especially where there is significant damage or someone’s life or well-being was threatened. In the most egregious felony cases where someone starts a fire with the intent to harm or kill someone else, an arson conviction can bring a life sentence.
How many years do you get for arson?
Sentencing varies depending on the type of arson and where the case is dealt with. Anyone convicted of arson where minor damage was caused will be given a fine and a community order. But if the arson is more significant or a person died, they could be sentenced to life in prison.
What are the different types of arson?
Types of arson motives identified are (1) pyromania, 10.1 percent; (2) revenge, 52.9 percent; (3) vandalism, 12.3 percent; (4) insurance fraud, 6.55 percent; (5) welfare fraud, 6.55 percent; (6) the psycho firesetter, 8.7 percent; and (7) crime concealment, 2.9 percent.
Do arsonists have a mental illness?
90% of arsonists had recorded mental health histories, and of those 36% had the major mental illness of schizophrenia or bipolar disorder. 64% were abusing alcohol or drugs at the time of their firesetting. Pyromania was only diagnosed in three of the 283 cases.
What is aggravated criminal damage?
Aggravated criminal damage is where property has been destroyed or damaged with the aggravating factor being that life is endangered by the destruction or damage to the property.
How much does it cost to get your record expunged in Ohio?
You need to fill out two forms which are the Application for Sealing of a Criminal Record Pursuant to ORC 2953.32_ and “Judgment Entry for Sealing.” It is a $50 fee to have your records sealed which you must pay.