What is premature spillage in swallowing?

What is premature spillage in swallowing?

Premature spill is attributed to weakness of the posterior tongue or the soft palate or both. The nerves involved are XII, X and spinal accessory XI. The small amount of barium (3 mL) assisted the patient in not revealing more dramatic premature spillage.

What is delayed swallow initiation?

Delayed swallow reflex refers to when a person’s automatic swallow reflex—which normally kicks in when liquid or chewed food in the mouth reaches the base of the tongue—is hampered.

What causes delayed swallowing reflex?

A wide range of diseases can cause swallowing problems, which your doctor may call “dysphagia.” These include: Disturbances of the brain such as those caused by Parkinson’s disease, multiple sclerosis, or ALS (amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, or Lou Gehrig’s disease)

What is a delayed pharyngeal swallow?

During swallowing, delayed pharyngeal swallowing occurs when the head of the bolus enters the pharynx and the pharyngeal swallow is not triggered within 0.4–0.5 seconds, commonly indicated by laryngeal elevation when being discussed in the context of the rest of the pharyngeal swallow [1,2].

What are the three stages of swallowing?

Anatomically, swallowing has been divided into three phases: oral, pharyngeal, and esophageal. The oral phase includes preparatory as well as early transfer phases.

When is swallow reflex triggered?

The reflex is initiated by touch receptors in the pharynx as a bolus of food is pushed to the back of the mouth by the tongue, or by stimulation of the palate (palatal reflex). Swallowing is a complex mechanism using both skeletal muscle (tongue) and smooth muscles of the pharynx and esophagus.

What is the most common cause of pharyngeal dysphagia?

Oropharyngeal dysphagia is at term that describes swallowing problems occurring in the mouth and/or the throat. These swallowing problems most commonly result from impaired muscle function, sensory changes, or growths and obstructions in the mouth or throat.

What is pharyngeal phase?

Pharyngeal phase – involuntary, movement of the bolus from the oropharynx into the esophagus. Esophageal phase – involuntary, movement of the bolus through the esophagus and into the stomach.

What are the 4 phases of swallowing?

There are 4 phases of swallowing:

  • The Pre-oral Phase. – Starts with the anticipation of food being introduced into the mouth – Salivation is triggered by the sight and smell of food (as well as hunger)
  • The Oral Phase.
  • The Pharyngeal Phase.
  • The Oesophageal Phase.

What are the 2 phases of swallowing?

The act of swallowing has voluntary and involuntary components. The preparatory/oral phase is voluntary, whereas the pharyngeal and esophageal phases are mediated by an involuntary reflex called the swallowing reflex.