What are the 5 types of Salter-Harris fractures?

What are the 5 types of Salter-Harris fractures?


  • Salter I (Slipped) This is when the fracture line extends through the physis or within the growth plate.
  • Salter II (Above) These are when the fracture extends through both the physis and metaphysis.
  • Salter III (Lower)
  • Salter IV (Through/Transverse)
  • Salter V (Rammed/Ruined)

Which is the most common type of Salter-Harris fracture?

Type 2. This fracture occurs when the growth plate is hit and splits away from the joint along with a small piece of the bone shaft. This is the most common type and happens most often in children over 10. About 75 percent of Salter-Harris fractures are type 2.

Are Salter-Harris fractures painful?

Signs and symptoms of a Salter-Harris fracture will often begin with pain, followed by swelling around the end of the injured long bone. The area around the fracture may also feel painful to touch. A person with a fracture may not be able to put weight on the affected limb or may have a limited range of motion.

What type of Salter-Harris Classification fracture which involves the physis and metaphysis?

Type II fractures involve a break from the growth plate up into the metaphysis, with the periosteum usually remaining intact. Type III fractures are intra-articular fractures through the epiphysis that extend across the physis. Type IV fractures cross the epiphysis, physis, and metaphysis.

What is the name of classification system for epiphyseal growth plate fracture?

The Salter-Harris system classifies growth plate fractures into five groups: type I, fracture through the growth plate; type II, fracture through the growth plate and metaphysis; type III, fracture through the growth plate and epiphysis; type IV, fracture through the growth plate, epiphysis and metaphysis, and type V.

How do you remember types of fractures?

Salter-Harris Fracture (remember the mnemonic SALTR)

  1. Slipped (i.e., through growth plate and not involving bone) / Type I.
  2. Above growth plate (i.e., through metaphysis) / Type II (most common)
  3. Lower growth plate (i.e., through epiphysis) / Type III.
  4. Through (i.e., through metaphysis growth plate and epiphysis) / Type IV.

How are musculoskeletal fractures classified?

Closed or open fractures: If the injury doesn’t break open the skin, it’s called a closed fracture. If the skin does open, it’s called an open fracture or compound fracture. Complete fractures: The break goes completely through the bone, separating it in two. Displaced fractures: A gap forms where the bone breaks.