What are the 14 Bravais lattices?

What are the 14 Bravais lattices?

Lattice system The 14 Bravais lattices are grouped into seven lattice systems: triclinic, monoclinic, orthorhombic, tetragonal, rhombohedral, hexagonal, and cubic. Five of the crystal systems are essentially the same as five of the lattice systems, while the hexagonal and trigonal crystal systems differ.

How many Bravais lattice are there for tetragonal?

two tetragonal Bravais lattices
There are two tetragonal Bravais lattices: the simple tetragonal (from stretching the simple-cubic lattice) and the centered tetragonal (from stretching either the face-centered or the body-centered cubic lattice).

What does tetragonal mean in chemistry?

tetragonal system, one of the structural categories to which crystalline solids can be assigned. Crystals in this system are referred to three mutually perpendicular axes, two of which are equal in length.

What is tetragonal shape?

Like the cubic system, the tetragonal system has three axes that all meet at 90 degrees. It differs from the isometric system in that the C axis is longer than the A and B axis which are the same length. This makes it’s for a rectangular prism.

What does monoclinic mean in science?

Definition of monoclinic : of, relating to, or constituting a system of crystallization characterized by three unequal axes with one oblique intersection.

What is Bravais and non Bravais lattice?

In a Bravais lattice all lattice points are equivalent and hence by necessity all atoms in the crystal are of the same kind. On the other hand, in a non-Bravais lattice, some of the lattice points are non-equivalent.

What is Bravais lattice in solid state physics?

Bravais Lattice refers to the 14 different 3-dimensional configurations into which atoms can be arranged in crystals. The smallest group of symmetrically aligned atoms which can be repeated in an array to make up the entire crystal is called a unit cell.