How many NHL teams were there in 1917?

How many NHL teams were there in 1917?


1917–18 NHL season
Number of teams 4 (3 by January 1918)
Regular season
Season champions Montreal Canadiens
Top scorer Joe Malone (Canadiens)

Who were the original 6 hockey teams?

While there had been teams that dated back to the 1800s and many that came and went through the years, there are six teams which are considered to be the Original or Traditional Six: the Montreal Canadiens, Boston Bruins, New York Rangers, Chicago Blackhawks, Toronto Maple Leafs, and Detroit Red Wings.

What is the oldest hockey team?

Montreal Canadiens
Montreal Canadiens, Canadian professional ice hockey team based in Montreal. The oldest continually operating team in the National Hockey League (NHL), the Canadiens have won more Stanley Cup titles than any other team (24) and are the most successful franchise in league history.

How many teams were in the NHL in 1918?

The 1918–19 NHL season was the second season of the National Hockey League (NHL)….

1918–19 NHL season
Number of games 18
Number of teams 3
Regular season
Top scorer Newsy Lalonde (Canadiens)

What teams were in the NHL in 1920?


Toronto St.Patricks 24 30
Ottawa Senators 24 28
Montreal Canadiens 24 26
Hamilton Tigers 24 12

How many NHL hockey teams are there?

32National Hockey League / Number of teams

Which NHL team is the oldest?

Who were the original 12 NHL teams?

Jean Beliveau won 10 Stanley Cups with the Canadiens from 1956 to 1971.

  • Another star of the Montreal Canadiens,Yvan Cournoyer won 10 Stanley Cups between 1965 and 1979.
  • Like Richard and Beliveau,Claude Provost won his first cup in 1956.
  • Red Kelly is the most successful NHL player who never played for Montreal.
  • How many NHL teams are in the NHL?

    ESPN reports that Thursday’s face-off between the Winnipeg Jets and the Seattle Kracken–the league’s newest expansion team–will be broadcast by the team of former NHL player and Kracken analyst JT Brown and play-by-play man Everett Fitzhugh. The game airs at 7 pm EDT.

    What are the names of the NHL hockey teams?

    What are the names of all the hockey teams? Here is the list of all 30 NHL hockey teams in Alphabetical Order: Anaheim Ducks. Boston Bruins. Buffalo Sabres. Calgary Flames. Carolina Hurricanes. Chicago Blackhawks. Colorado Avalanche. What are professional hockey teams in Florida?

    When did NHL start?

    National Hockey League opens its first season. On December 19, 1917, Montreal teams win the first two NHL games played. In a 7-4 win over the Ottawa Senators, the Canadiens’ Joe Malone scores five