How many hours can you legally work in CT?
In Connecticut, eligible employees must receive overtime if they work more than 40 hours per week. Also, employees who work in restaurants and hotel restaurants must receive overtime for all hours worked on a seventh consecutive day of work.
Do salaried employees get overtime in CT?
Overtime. Connecticut requires employers to pay nonexempt salaried employees overtime equal to 1 1/2 times their standard hourly wages after employees work more than 40 hours during a week. Employers do not have to pay employees overtime based on the numbers of hours they work each day.
Are you legally entitled to overtime pay?
There’s no legal right to pay for working extra hours and there are no minimum statutory levels of overtime pay, although your average pay rate must not fall below the National Minimum Wage. Your contract of employment should include details of overtime pay rates and how they’re worked out.
Is mandatory overtime legal in CT?
Connecticut labor laws require employers to pay employees overtime at a rate of 1½ time their regular rate when they work more than 40 hours in a workweek. Some exceptions apply. CT Statute 31-76b-76i. An employer must also comply with federal overtime laws.
Is it legal in CT to work 7 days in a row?
A: In Connecticut, 12—not 13—days is the maximum permissible continuous mandatory period of work, but you’re not necessarily breaking the law if you allow an employee to work more than 12 days in a row.
Is 32 hours full time in CT?
While most employers define full-time work as ranging between 32 and 40 hours a week, the Affordable Care Act specifies that a part-time worker works fewer than 30 hours a week on average. Under the Affordable Care Act, a 32-hour workweek is considered full-time.
Is it illegal to not pay overtime in CT?
Connecticut’s Overtime Pay Each employer shall pay 1-1/2 times the employee’s regular rate of pay after 40 hours in the workweek. Overtime pay is due for actual hours worked over 40. No requirement to pay overtime on a daily basis, weekends, or holidays except by agreement.
Does Connecticut recognize the highly compensated employee exemption?
The DOL’s new regulations also make changes to the “highly compensated employee” exemption, but Connecticut, Massachusetts and New York do not recognize this exemption for private sector employees.
Can you refuse to do overtime?
Non-guaranteed overtime does not have to be offered by an employer. However, when it is offered, the employee must accept and work it. If you want to rely on either guaranteed or non-guaranteed overtime you should clearly detail in the terms and conditions of employment that the overtime is compulsory.
How many hours overtime can you work in a week?
The maximum permissible overtime as per section 10 of the Basic Conditions of Employment Act is 10 hours in any 1 week.
Is it illegal to work 7 days a week CT?
What’s Prohibited or Required? An employer can’t “compel” or force an employee to work more than six days in a row in any calendar week. And an employer can’t fire an employee who refuses to work on the seventh day. BUT, asking an employee to work or the employee’s voluntary acceptance of such work is permissible.
Are lunch breaks paid in CT?
Under Connecticut law, employers must give a 30-minute meal break to employees who work at least seven and a half consecutive hours. An employer does not have to pay for this time; in other words, meal breaks are unpaid.